British Columbia and Yukon Church Aid Society

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

British Columbia and Yukon Church Aid Society

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The British Columbia Church Aid Society, based in London, England, was formed in 1910 as an organization to represent the interests of and raise support in the home country for the British Columbia dioceses and institutions such as the Anglican Theological College. It unified into a provincial scope the work of the various existing diocesan missionary societies: the Columbia Mission, founded in 1859; the New Westminster Association (later called New Westminster and Kootenay Missionary Association) founded in 1880; and the Nishga Union (later called Caledonia Missionary Union) created in 1905. The former diocesan organizations retained their identity as diocesan committees of the larger organization. In 1913 the Diocese of Yukon was added to the Society's activities resulting in a new name, British Columbia and Yukon Church Aid Society (B.C.Y.C.A.S.). The Society's long-time serving General Secretary was the Rev. Canon Jocelyn Perkins who remained active in office from the Society's beginning until after the Second World War.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places