Affichage de 1 résultats

Description archivistique
City of Thunder Bay fonds Government Anglais
Aperçu avant impression Affichage :

Thunder Bay Original By-Laws

Under Section 5 of the Municipal Act (2001), powers of a municipal government must be exercised through by-laws, approved by City Council, which enable the municipality to govern its own affairs and respond to local issues. These by-laws work within the framework of provincial and federal legislation. By-laws relate to a broad range of issues and generally provide for a system of licenses, prohibitions, and requirements of persons. The Office of the City Clerk holds responsibility for maintaining Policy Manuals and the corporate by-law and reporting system. The City Clerk and the City Solicitor share the responsibility of interpreting
by-laws for municipal officials. City Council passes new by-laws and votes on amending and existing by-laws in Council meetings, based on recommendations and advice from the City Clerk. The City Council is governed by a board of 13 elected members including the Mayor, who each serve a four year term. One elected official presides over each of the seven wards within the City and an additional 5 elected officials represent the broader regional areas surrounding the City.

Council Meetings and Committee of the Whole Meetings are now held in accordance with Bylaw 139-2006. Council discusses issues in Committee of the Whole Meetings based on the following four key divisions; Community Services, Planning, Operations and Administrative Services. The City Council also delegates responsibility to three sub-committees; the Committee of Adjustment, the Heritage Advisory Committee, and the Ad Hoc Advisory Committee.

Mayors presiding over Council in the time reflected in this series include Saul Laskin (1970-1972), Walter Assef (1973-1978 and 1981-1985), Dusty Miller (1979-1980), Jack Masters (1986-1991), David Hamilton (1992-1997), and Ken Boshcoff (1998-2003).

Series consists of by-laws established by The City of Thunder Bay beginning from the point of the City’s amalgamation in 1970. By-laws established by the City cover a range of issues including Agreements pertaining to items such as land acquisitions, leases, employment unions and major institutions within the City such as Canadian Pacific, Canadian National Railway and the Hydro Electric Commission; road maintenance, traffic systems and parking regulations; appointment of municipal officers; zoning; capital works and development of infrastructure, including urban renewal, licenses; rules of procedure for City Council; and taxation. In addition to these general items, early by-laws established in the City relate to the establishment of traffic light systems and intersections, the development of Boulevard Lake, and the establishment of a ward system for the City. Recent by-laws from this series also cover accessibility provisions, heritage designation, animal control and records management.

By-laws contain indexes for each year which can be located in the first box pertaining to each year. Indexes are arranged alphabetically by topic and name. For example, there are alphabetical arrangements of street names, names of people for appointed positions, corporate names and institutional names. There are also topical terms such as taxation, official plans and agreements.