3400 Richmond Ave.
St. Michaels University School - Archives
University School 1906-1972 ; St. Michael's School 1910-1972 ; St. Michaels University School 1972-September, 1906. Rev. W.W. Bolton and J.C. Barnacle–both of St. Paul's School, Esquimalt–join forces to establish a new school called "University School". The intentions of the Founders was to establish a school which shall maintain the best traditions of the English Public Schools; at the same time keeping in view the special needs of Colonial life. R.V. Harvey, Headmaster of Queen's School in Vancouver, moves his school to Victoria and enters into a partnership by amalgamating Queen's School with the new University School in August, 1908.
1910 - K.C. Symons moves to Victoria from Salt Spring Island to continue tutoring Monty Bridgman, after the Bridgman family secures them a tiny house. St. Michael's School is born.
1971-1972 - Amalgamation of University School and St. Michael's School occurs.
1978-1979 - Girls enter the school and boarding life for the first time (18 years later, the ratio is almost 50/50).
To serve the school community by protecting school-related information of historical, legal or administrative value
To act as a means of showcasing the rich and significant history of the school to the wider community
Dates: 1905 - 2006
100 linear metres; 5,000 photos
By appointment only, contact email@example.com
Created January 5, 2010.
Revised by BCANS Coordinator, March 22, 2011.